Accolades Continue for Lady Vikings

The Avery Lady Viking Soccer team continues to be named among the area’s best by the Asheville Citizen-Times with six girls being named among the All-WNC soccer team.  Lady Viking Head Coach Tom Evaul was named as the Western North Carolina Coach of the Year, and Mary Chesnut Smith earned first team honors.

Megan Robbins, Kaley Faulkner, Katelynn Eudy, Melinda Eggers and Elyse Perry all earned honorable mention honors to the All-WHC team.

The Lady Vikings enjoyed their best season in women’s soccer history, putting together a 20-2-2 record, falling in the State Title contest against Southwest Onslow, but earning respect along the way from many across the state of North Carolina.

Coach Evaul was honored as the NCSCA Coach of the Year in 1A soccer, as well as receiving the Region 10 Coach of the Year prior to earning the All-WHC nod from the Citizen-Times.

Avery did not allow a goal in the postseason prior to the two that were given up in the State Title Contest.

Smith garnered first team honors for her play this season.  She was named WHC Player of the Year for her production this season.  Chesnut scored 33 goals and dished 28 assists, and earned spots on the NCSCA All-Region and All-State teams.

Congratulations to the Lady Vikings for their season and continued accolades that come with their performances this season; the full All-WNC team is as follows:

Coach of the Year

Tom Evaul

Player of the Year

Ashley VanLandingham, TC Roberson, Senior, Midfielder


Nicole Cucchi, Roberson, Senior

Shenny Lenhart, Reynolds, Sophomore

Sydney Maddox, Reynolds, Sophomore

Mary Chesnut Smith, Avery County, Junior


Elizabeth Ross, Tuscola, Senior

Anna Trakas, Polk County, Senior


Rachel Nash, Asheville, Senior

Shannon Pearson, Reynolds, Junior

Hannah Sizemore, Roberson, Junior


Nicole Morgan, Roberson, Senior



Mackenzie LaSure, Asheville sophomore

Eliza Sease, Tuscola senior

Kendall Smith, Roberson sophomore


Katie Biggert, Asheville junior

Maddie Brock, Roberson freshman

Kelli Jo Havener, West Henderson senior

Sivan Levine, Reynolds senior


Rachel Kauffman, Tuscola senior

Michelle Lopez, Reynolds senior

Marissa McCord, Roberson junior


Katie Cavagnini, Reynolds sophomore

Honorable mention

Asheville: Eva McKinsey, Haley Smith, Abby Lenderman and Willow Hubbard.

Asheville Christian Academy: Anna Kendall, Bethany Logan and Patterson Young.

Asheville School: Katie Volatile.

Avery County: Kaley Faulkner, Meggan Robbins, Katelynn Eudy, Melinda Eggers and Elyse Perry.

Carolina Day: Michelle Fidelia and Melissa Garrett.

East Henderson: Nicole Louise, Taylor Fair and Alexis Green.

North Buncombe: Deandra Bodenhorst, Hannah Sorrells, Christina Jackson, Emilee Roberson, Lauren Pruitt and Jade Engstrom.

Polk County: Peyton Habenicht, Jessica Antonio and Katie Wilson.

Reynolds: Nikki White, Morgan Barr, Rachel Kennedy, Alice Langrall, Natalie Bradbury and Looie Doucette.

Roberson: Sarah Linhart, Emily McCord, Eliza Lobdell and Hannah Stanley.

Tuscola: Kathryn Ray, Jamie McCoy and Mackenize Tenan.

West Henderson: Carly Owenby, Aubrey Masters and Emil Harris.

Note: The Citizen-Times All-WNC teams are compiled by staff writer Andrew Pearson and based off nominations from area coaches. Athletes who are not nominated are not eligible for the All-WNC teams.


Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s